Letter #04 - 2005
Question regarding stalemate
Date: 1/26/2005 9:56:53 AM MST
From: Ryan Wall
Is there any rule that says that if one player has only his King remaining the other player has only 8 moves to check mate him or it is a stalemate?
My friend swears that is a rule, but I disagree.
There is no such rule stating that if one player has only his King remaining the other player has only 8 moves to check mate him or it is a stalemate.
If a player has enough pieces to perform a mate, he can take as many as 50 consecutive moves to mate the opponent's King.
The rules of Chess state that if “within the last 50 consecutive
moves have been made by each player without the movement of any
Pawn and without the capture of any piece, the game is drawn,
upon a correct claim by the player having the move.”
For more information about draw and stalemate rule, go to the following link:
Thank you for visiting us,