index 2006
Letter #13 -  2006

Sub:    En passant move
Date:   7/11/2006 2:22:10 PM MDT
From:  Robby

Is there a position or situation in which an en-passant move could not be permitted or be illegal?


Dear viewer,

It is possible that an en-passant move cannot be performed if such move breaks the rules of Chess.

The following diagram shows a position in which the en-passant maneuver is not possible:

En passant not allowed
White to move

White moves his c2 Pawn to c4 threatening to capture the black Bishop in exchange for a Pawn. Black cannot exercise his en-passant option (bxc3+ e.p) since he exposes his King to check from the white h4 Rook.

Thank you for visiting us,

back      up      forward

Home  |  Chess Gallery  |  Chess Poster  |  Contact us  |  Español