index 2007
Letter #22 -  2007

Sub:    Castling King side
Date:   07/16/2007 12:41:14 AM PDT
From:  Ismael Obispo


I just want to ask you if I can still castle (King side) if my Rook is threatened by any other piece for example the Queen or Bishop?

Actually, we are playing a friendly game when my opponent told me that I cannot castle on the King's side because my Rook is being threatened by his Queen.

So I just want to know if this is true.

Thanks a lot in advance,
God bless.

Dear viewer,

If your Rook is being attacked by any enemy piece (Queen or Bishop), it is legal to castle. In the diagram below, black Bishop just moved from c8 to b7 threatening white's Rook at h1 and white King can exercise his Kingside castling option without breaking the rules of Chess.

White to move
Legal castling

However, if your King is being attacked by your opponent with any piece (Queen, Bishop, Knight, etc.) you are not allowed to castle since it is an illegal move. You have to take your King out of check by moving it to a safe square, or capturing the enemy piece, or interposing one of your pieces between the attacking piece and your King.

Thank you for visiting us,

back      up      forward

Home  |  Chess Gallery  |  Chess Poster  |  Contact us  |  Español