Letter #05 - 2007
Date: 1/23/2007 12:00:04 PM MST
From: Derek Dell
I was hoping you can clarify a couple of rules for me.
My friend and I engaged in a regular game - not tournament, just “friendly play”.
Regarding castling, the rules are as follows:
#1- Your King has not moved yet
#2- The Rook you want to castle with has not moved yet
#3- There are no pieces between the Rook and the King
#4- You are not being checked. (You cant castle out of check!)
#5- The process of castling will not put or land the King in check.
If your opponent's Knight travels down the board and puts the King in check, the Knight is captured by another piece, and the check is removed, does that mean that castling cannot be done at some later point in the game or is castling still allowed as long as the above 5 rules are met?
In other words, my friend states that once the King has been put in check, castling is not allowed for the rest of the game. True of False?
2nd rule clarification:
If your opponent calls checkmate, and it is determined that he is incorrect, does that mean a forfeit of the game or is it just a blunder and the game play continues?
Again, this is not tournament play - just a friendly game.
Thank you very much in advance for your response.
1. If your King is put on check by a Knight (or any other piece), the Knight is captured by any of your pieces, and the check threat is removed, then your King can castle at some later point in the game as long as the mentioned 5 castling rules are met. This applies no matter how many times a King could have been put in check.
Your friend's statement that "-once the King has been put in check, castling is not allowed for the rest of the game" is incorrect.
2. If your opponent calls checkmate, and it is determined that he is incorrect, does not mean a forfeit of the game. It is just a blunder and the game play continues.
You can find more info on this checkmate call at this link:
Thank you for visiting us,