index 2007
Letter #27 -  2007

Sub:    Mate in 2 (Problem nine)
Date:   9/11/2007 2:32:27 PM MST
From:  John


I have a question on problem 9 (of 10) on your page:

The solution there indicates: 1. Qh5 , but I don't see how white can mate from there if black moves 1. ... Nf4.

The solution only covers:

1. Qh5 Kxe3 (or)
1. Qh5 gxh5

You don't consider black's option of moving the Knight on d3 (not taking the bait). That Knight has several other places it could also go, besides f4, and I don't see how white could then mate in one more move.

Am I missing something? Is that not legal or how does white mate from there?

Best Regards,

Dear viewer,

You may find an answer to your question at the following page:

Thank you for visiting us,

back      up      forward

Home  |  Chess Gallery  |  Chess Poster  |  Contact us  |  Español