index 2007
Letter #45 -  2007

Sub:    Pawn moves
Date:   12/27/2007 10:03:57 A.M. MST
From:  onlytony


I hope you don't mind but I have another question and it's a simple one but I cannot seem to find a definitive answer on your site or on the web in general.

The question is simply this: is there a rule, or has there ever been a rule, that whenever a Pawn is in a position to capture the other player's Pawn or piece, MUST it do so? (as opposed to making some other move at that time?)

Someone said that they played Pawns that way, and I just wanted to verify if this is true.

Thank you in advance for your help.

Dear viewer,

There is no rule or has ever been a rule that makes you capture an opponent's piece with a Pawn when your Pawn is in a position to do so.

Either, you can capture the piece or make any other move.

Thank you for visiting us,

back      up      forward

Home  |  Chess Gallery  |  Chess Poster  |  Contact us  |  Español