index 2007
Letter #07 -  2007

Sub:    Two Questions
Date:   2/24/2007 1:47:51 PM MST
From:  Javier Garcia


I have a couple of questions.

If at a Chess tournament (low level) someone makes an illegal move and several moves are played in such a way that it could not be possible to replay back to the move before the illegal move, what can be done?

Next question: In the King and Pawn ending against King, I don't see how the Pawn can promote when reaches sixth rank and his opponent knows how to stop it while being in front of it. Is it right for either player to offer a draw?

Greetings and thank you.

Dear viewer,

The official Laws of Chess -Article 7: Illegal positions - Section 7.4 - show the following:

“If during a game it is found that an illegal move has been made, or that pieces have been displaced from their squares, the position before the irregularity shall be re-instated.

If the position immediately before the irregularity cannot be identified the game shall continue from the last identifiable position prior to the irregularity.

The clocks shall be adjusted according to Article 6.13 and, in the case of an illegal move, Article 4.3 applies to the move replacing the illegal move. The game shall then continue.”

On the King and Pawn ending question, it is right for either player to offer a draw. Should both players decide to play on, then the player with the King alone, can force a draw by the triple repetition rule or, if he makes a wrong move, may lose the game

Thank you for visiting us,

back      up      forward

Home  |  Chess Gallery  |  Chess Poster  |  Contact us  |  Español