index 2009
Letter #54 -  2009

Sub:    Arriving late in tournaments
Date:   12/22/09 08:13:55 AM EDT
From:  Larry

How late can a Chess player arrive to a tournament?


Dear viewer,

“FIDE has implemented a new rule about players arriving late to tournaments. It used to be that players were forfeited after being late for one hour. Now, players are forfeited immediately, even if they are late for only seconds.

GM Hou Yifan arrived 5 seconds late to her board during one of the rounds at the 2009 Chinese Championship and she was forfeited.

Similar situations happened at the 2008 Dresden Olympiad when this rule was implemented.”


Thank you for visiting us,

back      up      forward

Home  |  Chess Gallery  |  Chess Poster  |  Contact us  |  Español