index 2009
Letter #35 -  2009

Sub:    Chess pieces position
Date:   8/24/2009  9:22:00 AM EDT
From:  Eugenio Ruiz


Someone tells me that the following Chess position is possible:

rnbqkbnr/pppppppp/8/8/3PPB2/P1NB1N2/1PPQ1PPP/R4RK1 w - - 1 0

How can this be legal if the rules of Chess won't allow a player to skip a move?

It seems to me that white has moved at least 9 or more times versus no move at all from black pieces.

Thank you.

Dear viewer,

The Chess FEN position you sent is legal and can be achieved during a normal game of Chess:

Legal position

To arrive to this position, black just moved any Knight back and forth from his original position repeatedly.

Thank you for visiting us,

back      up      forward

Home  |  Chess Gallery  |  Chess Poster  |  Contact us  |  Español