index 2012
Letter #17 -  2012

Sub:    General inquiry
04/25/12  10:18:43
From:  Leonardo Jaramillo Zuleta

PEREIRA MAY 25, 2012

I wish all of you a very good morning and congratulations for such an excellent site.

On previous occasions you have cleared out some doubts about some questions. Now, I have these two more inquiries:

1. Is it true or not that during a Chess game if only the King remains, the opponent has just 16 moves to perform a checkmate otherwise he loses the game? What the Chess Federation rules indicate on this?

2. Is it correct yes or not, to move two Pawns simultaneously when starting a Chess game in a single move? Sort like 1. d3 and e3.

Sincerely: Leonardo Jaramillo Zuleta

Dear viewer,

Both of your questions are incorrect.

If a player has only a King left, the opponent has up to 50 moves to give him mate provided he has sufficient elements to perform the checkmate. If he has not enough elements to perform the mate such as having only a King + Knight, or King + Bishop, etc., the game should end in a draw immediately. If the opponent cannot mate after the 50 regulatory moves, the game is also a draw.

It is not legal to move two pieces simultaneously at the starting of a game.

Thank you for visiting us,

back      up      forward

Home  |  Chess Gallery  |  Chess Poster  |  Contact us  |  Español